Three-way contests form; Clallam DCD post gets fourth hopeful

Another three-way contest formed on Wednesday in the Legislative District 24 race as well as in the Jefferson County commission election while the Clallam County Director of Community Development race attracted a fourth hopeful.

The top-two primary election on Aug. 2 will narrow each of the two District 24 races as well as the Jefferson County commissioner race and the Clallam County DCD race to two candidates each.

Those pairs will face off against each other in the Nov. 8 general election.

Incumbent Steve Tharinger, a Port Townsend Democrat, and challenger Darren Corcoran of Elma, also a Democrat, filed for the District 24 Position 2 seat on Wednesday. Republican Brian Pruiett of Carlsborg had filed for the seat on Monday.

Incumbent Mike Chapman, a Port Angeles Democrat, and challengers Matthew Rainwater of Port Angeles and Sue Forde of Sequim, both Republicans, filed for the District 24 Position 1 seat on Monday.

District 24 includes Clallam and Jefferson counties and part of Grays Harbor County.

Jefferson County Commissioner Greg Brotherton, a Quilcene Democrat, filed for re-election on Tuesday, while challenger Marcia Kelbon, a Quilcene Republican, filed on Monday and another challenger, Republican Jon S. Cooke of Quilcene, filed for the seat on Wednesday.

A fourth candidate for the Clallam County DCD position filed Wednesday.

Bruce Emery of Port Angeles added his name to a list that also includes Jesse Major, Kevin Russell and Cherie Kidd. The incumbent, Mary Ellen Winborn, is not running for re-election.

Two-way county-wide only contests that have formed so far for the November general election are:

• Incumbent Bill Peach of Forks and Mike French, Port Angeles City Council member, for the Clallam County Commission District 3 seat.

• Incumbent Will Purser of Sequim and Key Hays of Sequim for a seat on the Clallam County Public Utility Commission.

• Incumbent Joe Nole and challenger Arthur Frank for Jefferson County Sheriff.

Filing without opposition at this point are:

• Pamela Rushton, incumbent Clallam County assessor.

• Shoona Riggs, incumbent Clallam County auditor.

• Mark Nichols, incumbent Clallam County prosecuting attorney.

• Brian King, seeking the Clalllm County sheriff post now held by Bill Benedict, who is not seeking re-election.

• Jennifer L. White, seeking the Clallam County treasurer position now held by Teresa Marchi.

• Dave Neupert, incumbent Clallam County District Court 1 judge.

• Bruce Hanify, incumbent Clallam County District Court 2 judge.

• Jeff Chapman, incumbent Jefferson County assessor.

• Brenda Huntingford for the Jefferson County auditor seat now held by Rose Ann Carroll.

• Amanda Hamilton for the County Clerk position long held by Ruth Gordon.

• James M. Kennedy, incumbent Jefferson County prosecutor and coroner.

• Stacie Prada, incumbent Jefferson County treasurer.

• Mindy Walker, incumbent Jefferson County District Court judge.

• Jeff Randall, incumbent Jefferson County Public Utility District, District 1 seat.

Several people have filed for the 6th Congressional District seat now held by Derek Kilmer of Gig Harbor and the U.S. Senate seat long held by Patty Murray of Seattle. Both are Democrats seeking re-election.

Kilmer faces opposition from Elizabeth Kreiselmaier, a Republican from Gig Harbor; Rebecca Parson, a Tacoma Democrat; Chris Binns, a Republican living in Port Orchard; and Tom Triggs, a Bremerton Independent.

Murray had a dozen challengers as of the end of the day on Wednesday. Republicans are John Guenther of Spokane, Bill Hirt of Bellevue, Tiffany Smiley of Richland and Leon Lawson of Shelton, who claimed Trump Republican as his party preference. Democrats are Ravin Pierre of Seattle and Bryan Solstin of Seattle. Independents are Charlie (Chuck) Jackson of Anacortes, Jon Butler of Tonasket and Naz Paul, KIrkland. Dan Phan Doan of Seattle and Martin D. Hash, of Vancouver, Wash, listed no party preference. Henry Clay Dennison of Seattle prefers the Socialist Workers Party.

In-person filings are accepted from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day through Friday at the Clallam County Auditor’s Office, 223 E. Fourth St., Room 42, Port Angeles, and the Jefferson County Auditor’s Office at Jefferson County Courthouse, 1820 Jefferson St., Port Townsend. Online filings will be accepted between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. each day.

To see who has filed, and for other information, see or

More in Politics

League of Women Voters sets candidate forum schedule

Hopefuls for state seats, county commissioner position invited to debate

From left to right, State Sen. Emily Randall, D-Bremerton, state Sen. Drew MacEwen, R-Union, Port Angeles attorney Graham Ralston and Commissioner of Public Lands Hilary Franz, all candidates for Washington’s 6th Congressional District, appear before the Port Angeles Business Association on Tuesday to answer questions about their priorities for serving in Congress. (Peter Segall/Peninsula Daily News)
Congress hopefuls meet for a forum

Candidates to focus on bipartisanship

Clallam PUD candidates cite costs as top priority

Three hopefuls line up for six-year board position

More candidates join local races

Third declares for state Senate seat

Packed races begin to emerge

Political hopefuls file intent to run

Heather Dudley-Nollette.
Bayside director to run for Jefferson County commissioner

Heather Dudley-Nollette seeks District 1 seat

Port Angeles City Council hopefuls Kate Dexter and Travis Berglund answer questions during a Port Angeles Business Association forum Tuesday. (Jesse Major/Peninsula Daily News)
Port Angeles mayor to run for county commission

Dexter has supported climate action plan, affordable housing

Emily Randall, left, and Hilary Franz.
Stalwarts take sides in race for Kilmer’s seat

A growing constellation of Democratic Party influencers are choosing sides in the… Continue reading

Online learning keeps rising among state’s K-12 students

Online learning for Washington’s public school kids is here to stay. That’s… Continue reading

Jefferson County turnout tops in state

More than half registered voters handed in ballots

Battle narrows to Biden and Trump

Tuesday’s primaries give each the delegates needed for a November contest

Clallam commissioner announces bid for third term

Housing, timber revenue among several priorities