Outcomes unchanged after third ballot count

PORT ANGELES — Outcomes were unchanged after a third count of Tuesday’s primary election ballots Thursday.

The lineup for the November Clallam County Public Utility commission race is Patti Morris and Rick Paschall. Morris had a total of 3,761 votes, or 49.41 percent, after Thursday’s count. Paschall’s total was 1,667 votes or 21.9 percent.

Marty Michaelis was in third place and Neil Knutson was in fourth.

The Clallam County Auditor’s Office has counted a total of 32,537 ballots in the primary election, for a voter turnout of 59.14 percent. The next ballot count will be by 5 p.m. today.

Jefferson County’s voter turnout was 49.62 percent. The voter turnout statewide was 36.71 percent Thursday.

The top-two finishers from the primary advance to the Nov. 3 general election. The PUD general election will include all voters of Clallam County except in the city of Port Angeles, which has its own electric utility.

Morris and Paschall are vying for the six-year seat being vacated by appointee Dave Anderson. Anderson is filling the expiring term of the late Hugh Haffner, a longtime District 2 commissioner who had resigned in June 2018 and died of complications from a stroke in February.

Morris, who will be 66 as of the Nov. 3 general election, is a Port Angeles consultant who worked for 27 years for the Tucson Electric Power Company in Arizona.

Paschall, 62, is a retired operations manager of Pacific Northwest Generating Cooperative in Portland.

For the two seats in Legislative District 24, incumbent Democrats Reps. Steve Tharinger of Port Townsend and Mike Chapman of Port Angeles each received the largest share of votes in their respective races.

The district covers Clallam and Jefferson counties and part of Grays Harbor County.

Chapman will be challenged in November by Republican Sue Forde of Sequim, the Clallam County Republican Party chair who unsuccessfully ran against then-Clallam County Commissioner Tharinger in 2003.

Tharinger will be challenged by Republican Brian Pruiett of Carlsborg.

As of Thursday, Chapman had 28,968 votes region wide, or 56.27 percent to Forde’s 14,948 votes, or 29.04 percent.

Tharinger had 24,074 votes, or 47.5 percent, to Pruiett’s 13,885 votes, or 27.39 percent.

In Clallam County, Chapman had 16,441 votes, or 51.86 percent to Forde’s 11,316 votes, or 35.60 percent.

In Jefferson County, Chapman had 9,126 votes, or 71.27 percent to Forde’s 2,224 votes, or 17.37 percent.

Truck driver Daniel Charles Svoboda of Port Hadlock, who had listed his party as “Prefers Trump Republican Party,” conceded Wednesday morning to Chapman and Forde, saying he had not campaigned for the position.

In Clallam County, Tharinger had 13,933 votes, or 44.61 percent, to Pruiett’s 10,210 votes, or 32.69 percent.

In Jefferson County, Tharinger had 7,718 votes, or 61.58 percent, to Pruiett’s 1,938 votes, or 15.46 percent.

Congressman Derek Kilmer, a Democrat, will be challenged by Republican Elizabeth Kreiselmaier in the general election. Both live in Gig Harbor.

The 6th Congressional District includes 450,000 voters in Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor and Kitsap counties, and portions of Mason and Pierce counties, including Tacoma.

For more information, see the state Secretary of State website at sos.wa.gov.

More in Politics

Jefferson health board to vote on racism resolution in October

Members debate use of ‘BIPOC’ at September meeting

EYE ON CONGRESS: Congress debating stopgap funding

House also to vote on clean energy bill

Culp slams governor for virus, fire response

Rally reportedly draws more than 1,000 people

Loren Culp to speak in Port Angeles

Gubernatorial candidate headlines Saturday gathering

State Senate hopefuls discuss taxes, DNR

Democrat Kevin Van De Wege, Republican Connie Beauvais debate at PABA meeting

EYE ON CLALLAM: Commissioners to discuss EOC

Port Angeles City Council to act on changes to the Public Safety Advisory Board

EYE ON JEFFERSON: Commissioners to hear update on COVID-19

Intergovernmental Collaborative Group to meet

Chapman, Forde clash in candidate forum

Taxes, MAT clinic were points of contention

Sequim mayor backs QAnon on local broadcast

‘Movement encourages you to think for yourself’

Clallam County Superior Court judge candidates spar in debate

Incumbent, challenger trade jabs at PABA forum

Kilmer: Bipartisan support exists for PILT

Payments help counties with federal lands