Outcomes unchanged after fourth ballot count

PORT TOWNSEND — Outcomes were unchanged after a fourth count of Tuesday’s primary election ballots in Jefferson County on Friday.

The Jefferson County Auditor’s Office has counted a total of 16,415 ballots in the primary election, for a voter turnout of 61.93 percent of the 26,504 ballots issued. The next ballot count will be by 4 p.m. Monday.

Clallam County’s voter turnout was 59.73 percent Friday. The voter turnout statewide was 43.83 percent.

The top-two finishers from the primary advance to the Nov. 3 general election.

The lineup for the November Jefferson County commission District 2 seat now held by David Sullivan will be Heidi Eisenhour and Lorna Smith.

The primary race was decided only by voters in District 2, which includes Chimacum, Port Hadlock, Irondale, Marrowstone Island, Kala Point, Woodland Hills and Cape George.

The race will appear on the countywide ballot for the November general election.

Legislative District 24 Position 1 incumbent Mike Chapman, a Port Angeles Democrat, will face Republican Sue Forde of Sequim in November.

Legislative District 24 Position 2 incumbent Steve Tharinger, a Port Townsend Democrat, will be challenged by Republican Brian Pruiett of Carlsborg. The district covers Clallam and Jefferson counties and part of Grays Harbor County.

Congressman Derek Kilmer, a Democrat, will be challenged by Republican Elizabeth Kreiselmaier in the general election. Both live in Gig Harbor.

The 6th Congressional District includes 450,000 voters in Jefferson, Clallam, Grays Harbor and Kitsap counties, and portions of Mason and Pierce counties, including Tacoma.

For more information, see the state Secretary of State website at sos.wa.gov.