34 candidates file for office in Clallam County

Forks mayor among seven contested positions

PORT ANGELES — Seven contested races have emerged as 34 Clallam County candidates filed to run for office on the first day of filing week.

Forty-two positions will be on the Nov. 2 general election ballot in Clallam County, 27 of which were filled by at least one candidate Monday.

The weeklong filing period runs through 4:30 p.m. Friday.

Tim Fletcher, who is seeking a second four-year term as Forks mayor, drew a challenger Monday as progressive independent and wildlife conservationist Steve Wright entered the contest.

Wright said he would legalize psilocybin mushrooms on his first day in office, tackle corruption, re-staff the police department with people who have no complaints against them, encourage hemp production and “re-invent our city and re-invest in small businesses,” according to his website, www.wright4forks.com.

Six people filed to run for Port Angeles City Council on Monday, including incumbents Mike French, Lindsey Schromen-Wawrin, LaTrisha Suggs and Mayor Kate Dexter.

Jena Stamper will challenge Schromen-Wawrin for Position 3, while Adam Garcia filed to run against Suggs for Position 1.

Port of Port Angeles Commissioners Steve Burke and Colleen McAleer each filed to run for reelection in a countywide race with no challengers emerging Monday.

In Sequim, incumbent City Council members Sarah Kincaid, Rachel Anderson and Brandon Janisse each filed for office Monday.

Kathy Downer filed to run for Sequim’s Position 2 seat now occupied by Kincaid, while Patrick Day filed to run against Janisse for Position 5.

Barbara Neihouse and Clinton Wood each filed to run for Forks City Council’s Position 2 seat, while Sarah Holmes filed for Forks City Council Position 3.

Olympic Medical Center Commissioner Thom Hightower filed to run for reelection in District 3, Position 1. Heather Jeffers filed to run for an at-large seat on the OMC board.

Sarah Huling and Linda Offutt each filed to run for the open Forks Community Hospital Position 5 seat, while Donald Lawley filed as an incumbent for Position 3.

Other candidates who filed Monday were:

• Janine Ledford, Cape Flattery School Board Position 1.

• Sarah Methner, Port Angeles School Board Position 1.

• Jean Stratton, Port Angeles School Board Position 2.

• Rachel Tax, Sequim School Board Position 4.

• Patrice Johnston, Sequim School Board Position 2.

• Jeff Nicholas, Clallam County Fire District 3, Position 1.

• Greg Bellamy, Clallam County Fire District 5, Position 2.

• Tom Rosmond, Clallam County Fire District 6, Position 3.

• Ray Henninger, Clallam County Park and Recreation District 1, Position 1.

• Frank Pickering, Clallam County Park and Recreation District 1, Position 2.

• Alan Frank, Sunland Water District, Position 3.

The best way to file for office is online, said Susan Johnson, Clallam County election coordinator. Filing is available online 24 hours a day during the filing period, which ends at 4:30 p.m. Friday at https://voter.votewa.gov/candidatefiling/candidatelogin.aspx.

Candidates must be registered to vote in their districts, provide valid email addresses and pay filing fees.

If needed, election staff also is available to assist in filing using the in-office kiosks at the courthouse at 223 E. Fourth St. in Port Angeles between 9:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. during filing week.

Candidates also can file through the mail or by using the drive-up drop box at the county courthouse.

When filing by mail, candidates must send the candidate declaration and filing fee to Clallam County Elections, 223 E. Fourth St., Suite 1, Port Angeles, WA 98362. The documents must be in the county Auditor’s Office by 4:30 p.m. Friday.

Declaration of Candidacy forms and filing fee information can be found on the county auditor’s website at http://www.clallam.net/Auditor/Elections.html under Candidate Information 2021.

For more information, email elections@co.clallam.wa.us. The phone number is 360-417-2222.


Reporter Rob Ollikainen can be reached at rollikainen@peninsuladailynews.com.