Jefferson County candidate filing begins today

Forty-six seats on Nov. 2 ballot

PORT TOWNSEND — The first day of the five-day candidate filing period for the Nov. 2 general election is today.

Several hopefuls already have registered with the state Public Disclosure Commission (PDC) to allow them to collect campaign contributions.

The candidate filing period for the 46 positions in Jefferson County is from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. today through Friday.

Positions with the Port Townsend City Council, the Port of Port Townsend, all public school boards in the county, hospital district and other taxing district positions are up for grabs in this year’s election.

Three of the seven seats on the city council will have new faces next year, since incumbents Mayor Michelle Sandoval and council members Ariel Speser and Pam Adams have elected not to run for reelection.

Aislinn Diamanti and Tyler Myles Vega had registered with the PDC as candidates for the council race as of Friday. Both also have Facebook campaign sites.

Diamanti has served on the Port Townsend Planning Commission, she says on her campaign Facebook site.

Vegas mentions housing and the city golf course as two important issues on his Facebook site.

Neither city council candidate had reported any funds raised as of Friday or what specific seat they’re running for.

The Port of Port Townsend commission has two seats up for election this year.

District 3 Commissioner Peter Hanke is seeking his third four-year term. Carol Hasse registered on the PDC’s site as running for the District 2 seat currently held by Bill Putney, who is not running for reelection.

Hanke had not reported any funds raised as of Friday, while Hasse had reported she had raised $5,134.99 and spent $212.84 on the campaign.

Hasse founded Port Townsend Sails and co-founded the Wooden Boat Festival, she notes on her campaign page at

Jennifer James-Wilson is running for reelection for a fourth term for the position 4 at-large seat on the Port Townsend School Board. She has registered on the PDC site and reported no funding as of Friday.

Candidates can register online, by mail or in person, said Quinn Grewell, Jefferson County election coordinator.

Filing is available online 24 hours daily during the filing period beginning at 8:30 a.m. today and ending at 4:30 p.m. Friday at

Candidates must be registered to vote in their districts, provide a valid email address and pay filing fees.

When filing by mail, candidates must send the candidate declaration and filing fee to Jefferson County Elections, P.O. Box 563, Port Townsend, WA 98368. The documents must be in the county Auditor’s Office by 4:30 p.m. Friday, Grewell said.

Declaration of Candidacy forms and filing fee information can be found at

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Grewell discourages people from registering in person, but appointments are available by calling 360-385-9119 or 360-385-9117.

Here are office holders whose seats will be on the Nov. 2 ballot in both Clallam and Jefferson counties:

• Sequim School Board (Clallam, Jefferson): Brandino Gibson, Brian Kuh.

• Quillayute Valley School Board (Clallam, Jefferson): Kevin Hinchen, Ron Hurn.

• Forks Fire District 1 (Clallam, Jefferson): Anthony (Tony) Romberg.

• Sequim-area Fire District 3 (Clallam, Jefferson): G. Michael Gawley.

Here are office holders whose seats will be on the Nov. 2 ballot in Jefferson County:

• Port Townsend City Council: Sandoval, Speser, Adams.

• Port of Port Townsend: Putney, Hanke.

• Port Townsend School Board: James-Wilson, Constance Welch.

• Chimacum School Board: Sarah Martin, Mickey Nagy, Kathryn Lamka.

• Quilcene School Board: Paul Mahan, Cindy Pollard.

• Brinnon School Board: Mary Fickett, Shirley Towne.

• Queets-Clearwater School board: Sandra Wells-Kalama, Dorothy J. Cook, Kristeen Mowitch.

• East Jefferson County Hospital District 2 (Jefferson Healthcare Hospital): Cornelis Kees Kolff, Mari Dressler.

• West Jefferson County Hospital District 1: Nikki Hay, Carol Jean Young.

• East Jefferson Fire District 1: Deborah Stinson, George Randles.

• Quilcene Fire District 2: Melody Bacchus.

• Port Ludlow Fire District 3: Ronald Helmonds.

• Brinnon Fire District 4: Richard B. Moore, Ken McEdwards; Position 3 vacant.

• Discovery Bay Fire District 5: Ford Kessler.

• Clearwater Fire District 7: Steven Martin, Eugene Bunker, Wayne Sisco.

• Coyle-Thorndyke Park and Recreation District 1: Larry Robinson.

• Paradise Bay Water District 1: Cal White.

• Brinnon Water District 2: James Boyd.

• Brinnon Cemetery District 1: Myrtle Corey.

• Gardiner Cemetery District 3: Jim Hueter; Diane (Movius) Martin.

• Quilcene Cemetery District 2: Laurie K. Neuenschwander.

Here are office holders whose seats will be on the Nov. 2 ballot in Clallam County, where 42 seats are open:

• Port of Port Angeles: Colleen McAleer, Steven Burke.

• Clallam County Hospital District 1 (Forks Community Hospital): Donald Lawley; Position 5 vacant.

• Clallam County Hospital District 2 (Olympic Medical Center): Jim Leskinovitch, J. Thomas Oblak, Thom Hightower.

• Port Angeles City Council: La Trisha Suggs, Mike French, Lindsey Schromen-Wawrin, Kate Dexter.

• Sequim City Council: Sarah Kincaid, Mike Pence, Rachel Anderson, Brandon Janisse, Keith Larkin.

• Forks City Council: John D. Hillcar, Joe Soha; Mayor Tim Fletcher.

• Port Angeles School Board: Sarah Methner, Cindy Kelly.

• Crescent School Board: Sandy Middleton, Joey Currie.

• Cape Flattery School Board: Janine Ledford, Michael J. Lawrence, LeAnne Fletcher.

• Port Angeles-area (not including city) Fire District 2: David R. Whitney.

• Joyce-area Fire District 4: Terry Barnett.

• Clallam Bay-area Fire District 5: Greg Bellamy Sr.

• La Push-area Fire District 6: Thomas Rosmond.

• Park and Recreation District 1 (Sequim Aquatic Recreation Center-YMCA): Ray Heninger, Frank Pickering.

• Quillayute Park and Recreation District: Donald Grafstrom, Susie Brandelius.

• Black Diamond Water District: Sarah Martinez.

• Sunland Water District: Alan Frank.


Jefferson County reporter Zach Jablonski can be reached at 360-385-2335, ext. 5, or at