SPORTS: Lazy T’s and 7 Cedars Casino take top awards at Nate Crippen Memorial Tournament

FORKS — Lazy T’s and 7 Cedars Casino were the big winners at the popular Nate Crippen Memorial basketball tournament last weekend.

The tournament, a nonprofit scholarship fundraiser, is named after Nate Crippen, a Forks High School sophomore who died in an automobile crash Jan. 10, 2001.

In the 10th year of the tournament, Lazy T’s of Portland won the men’s championship while 7 Cedars Casino captured the women’s team title.

There were 16 men’s teams and six women’s squads at the tourney.

Lazy T’s defeated Brandeberry Logging of Wenatchee Valley 79-78 in overtime of the championship game.

Olympic Sporting Goods of Forks claimed third place and Inkredibles of Puyallup took fourth.

Tournament MVP went to Grant Ebright of Lazy T’s.

It was fitting that a tournament that is named after an outstanding Forks athlete had two Forks players making major contributions to the top two men’s teams.

Former Spartan Fritz Mesenbrink played for champion Lazy T’s while Jared Brandeberry played for runner-up Brandeberry Logging.

The men’s first team all-tournament team included Beau Pilon of Olympic Sporting Goods; Jeb Hobbes of Jerry’s Small Engines; Landon Heidenreich of Brandeberry Logging; Geoff Rice of Lazy T’s; and Jared Brandeberry of Brandeberry Logging.

The second team all-tournament team included Matt Ferrier of Bunk-n-Slunk; Thad Vinson of Inkredibles; Kasey Ulin of Olympic Sporting Goods; Fritz Messenbrink of Lazy T’s; and David Smith of Inkredibles.

In women’s action, 7 Cedars Casino of Sequim and Port Angeles beat Sooes Snappers of Neah Bay 61-29 in the championship game.

Tournament MVP honors went to Bracey Barker of 7 Cedars.

Making the first team all-tournament squad were Rebecca Thompson of Makah Nation; Kaci Price of West End Thunder; Lisa Halttunen of Sooes Snappers; Alison Crumb of 7 Cedars Casino; and Cherish Moss of Sooes Snappers.

Second team all-tournament team honors went to Mele Rich of Tiff’s Team; Kelli Shuffelen of Makah Nation; Marsha Shamp of Burley Construction; Brooke Helpenstell of 7 Cedars; and Dora Brings Yellow of Burley Construction.

The big tournament award, the Nate Crippen Award, went to Jonah Black of the Blackhawks of LaPush.

Nate Crippen’s parents, Dave and Sheri Crippen, personally pick the recipient for the Nate Crippen Award, tournament director Larry Scroggins said.

“They pick someone who best shows the character of their late son, who was always thinking of others first.”

Dave and Sheri Crippen also were inducted into the inaugural Nate Crippen Memorial Tournament Hall of Fame last weekend.

ßch is set for March 23-25, 2012.

Jessica Bos is the assistant director of the tourney.

Forks Elk’s Lodge 2524 is the tournament’s major sponsor.

Other sponsors include Forks Outfitters, Forks Lion’s Club, Sully’s, The In Place, Whitehead Auto Parts, Wilder Auto Center, Allen Logging, Wal-Mart, Costco, Plaza Jalisco, Chinook Pharmacy, Evergreen 76/Subway, Quileute Valley School District, Pacific Pizza and Leppell’s Flowers and Gifts

More in Sports

Most Read