At 10:20 a.m. Monday, incumbent Jefferson County Auditor Rose Ann Carroll filed her paperwork to run for re-election. (Jeannie McMacken/Peninsula Daily News)

At 10:20 a.m. Monday, incumbent Jefferson County Auditor Rose Ann Carroll filed her paperwork to run for re-election. (Jeannie McMacken/Peninsula Daily News)

Candidates get early start on filing week in Jefferson

PORT TOWNSEND — Several candidates got an early start Monday morning at the Jefferson County Courthouse, waiting in line to file to run for county office as filing week began.

Some candidates mailed their paperwork or filed electronically on the first filing day for the Nov. 6 general election.

Incumbent Kathleen Kler is not seeking re-election to the Jefferson County Board of Commissioners, Position 3 (4-year term) for personal reasons. Gregory A. Brotherton. 46, of Quilcene was the fifth person in line at 8:30 a.m. Monday to file to run for the position.

James M. Kennedy, 37, of Port Ludlow filed for prosecutor and coroner (4-year term). Incumbent Michael Haas has not filed yet, although he has announced he would seek re-election.

Jefferson County District Court Judge incumbent Jill Landes will not seek re-election. Both Noah Harrison, 43, Port Townsend and Mindy Walker, 41, of Port Ludlow filed for the seat Monday.

Jefferson County Sheriff David Stanko, 70, Port Townsend (incumbent) has filed for re-election.

Also filing Monday were: Jefferson County auditor (4-year term) Rose Ann Carroll, 68, Port Townsend (incumbent); Jefferson County assessor (4-year term), Jeffrey S. Chapman, 66, Port Townsend (incumbent); Jefferson County treasurer (4-year term), Stacie Prada, 47, Port Townsend (incumbent); and Jefferson County Clerk Ruthann Gordon, 64, Port Townsend (incumbent).

Seventeen offices are open for election including U.S. senator (6-year term), 6th Congressional District (2-year term), 24th Legislative District Position 1 and Position 2, both 2-year terms.

Filing for state House of Representatives Position 1 is incumbent Mike Chapman and incumbent Steve Tharinger, Position 2. Incumbent U.S. Rep. Derek Kilmer also filed.

Supreme Court Justice position 2 incumbent Susan Owens is running for another 6-year term. Justice Position 8 incumbent Steve Gonzales and Position 9 incumbent Sheryl Gordon McCloud are also running for re-election.

Court of Appeals Division 2, District 2 Judge Position 2 Rebecca Glasgow has also filed.

Filing week ends on Friday and more candidates are expected to put their names on the ballot.

The last day candidates may withdraw their names is Monday, May 21 by 4:30 p.m.

To determine placement of names on the ballot, a lot draw will be held 9:30 a.m. Monday, May 21 and is open to the public.


Jefferson County Editor/Reporter Jeannie McMacken can be reached at 360-385-2335 or at

More in Politics

Clallam commissioner announces bid for third term

Housing, timber revenue among several priorities

Mike Chapman.
Housing discussed at update

Tharinger, Chapman talk about legislation

House, Senate release spending proposals

Supplemental budgets to be negotiated

Plan to cap how much landlords can raise rent moves ahead

Statewide caps on annual rent increases could take effect in… Continue reading

State House approves unemployment benefits for strikers

Workers who are on strike or locked out of their… Continue reading

Chapman explains votes

Rep. Mike Chapman was among the few Democrats who voted… Continue reading

Democrats Franz, Randall stockpile cash in battle for US House position

Cash is flowing into campaign coffers of two Democrats dueling for an… Continue reading

Ruling: Trump to stay on primary ballot

Eight voters argued Jan. 6 actions made him ineligible

Should police be allowed to engage in high-speed pursuits if they just suspect someone is engaged in a crime? The state Legislature is set to debate that issue following verification of a citizen initiative that gives police more leeway in decision making. (Mary Murphy/Washington State Journal)
State Legislature to debate high-speed police pursuits

Initiative 2113 would amend law to be ‘reasonable suspicion’

State officials turn to schools in opioid fight

Legislation would require fentanyl-use prevention education once per year

Eight voters challenge Trump on Washington state ballot

Kitsap judge to hear arguments Tuesday