Jefferson chamber announces award finalists

Five awards to be presented March 25

PORT TOWNSEND — The Chamber of Jefferson County has announced the finalists for the Jefferson County 2023 Community Leadership Awards.

Awards will be presented from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. March 25 at the American Legion Hall, 209 Monroe St., Port Townsend for Citizen of the Year, Business Leader of the Year, Rising Entrepreneur, Young Professional and to the Future Business Leader of the Year (Youth).

“The selection team had a difficult time narrowing the field from over 40 amazing community heroes who have all contributed so much to our community,” said Arlene Alen, executive director, in a press release.

The $45 ticket includes a buffet described as either a light dinner or heavy hors d’oeuvres, and a drink.

Finalists for awards are:

Citizen of the Year

• Sarah Grossman, JUMP Playground.

• Kelli Parcher, Owl360.

• Sarah Spaeth, Jefferson Land Trust.

The award is presented to a person whose extraordinary public service has made a positive impact on the community and is generally considered a lifetime achievement award, according to the chamber.

The recipient has chosen to give back to the community and to serve others. The Jefferson County community is a better place because of the efforts of this individual.

Business Leader of the Year

• Denise Winter, Key City Public Theatre.

• Pete and Cathy Langley, Port Townsend Foundry.

• Kevin Streett, Jefferson Public Utility District.

The award is presented to a person who demonstrates a history of vision, service, and leadership for the betterment of the Jefferson County community, according to the chamber.

This individual has built a legacy of building other leaders along the way and established a reputation of character, trust, and leadership for others to emulate.

Rising Entrepreneur

• Malloree Weinheimer, Chickadee Forestry.

• Jake Ramsey, A Taxi Cab Company.

• Jody Locklear, Papa’s Small Engine Repair & Sales.

The award is presented to a person who demonstrates a commitment to business and economic development,according to the chamber.

The contribution and leadership of this individual was a catalyst for job creation, smart growth/development, or economic improvement in Jefferson County, the chamber said.

Young Professional of the Year

• Blaise Sullivan, Jefferson Land Trust.

• Jacob Davidson, Jefferson Healthcare.

Joshua Cunningham, Camp Parsons.

This award is given to a young professional who demonstrates excellence, creativity, and valuable service in their business to improve the quality of life for others in the community and who serves as a role model for their peers and community youth, the chamber said.

Future Business Leader (Youth)

• Ashton Meyer-Bibbins, Port Townsend High School.

• Adeline Gellert-DePalma, Port Townsend High School.

• Andrew Stevenson, Chimacum High School.

This award honors a high school senior who daily displays leadership qualities such as honesty, integrity, dependability, respectfulness and compassion. The student succeeds in academics as well as community service and serves as a role-model of their peers.

Additional information on sponsorships and tickets are available via the chamber website

For more about the awards event, email or call 360-385-7869.

More in News

Racers in the Race to Alaska pass by the cheers and well wishes from the hundreds of spectators lining the docks at the Northwest Maritime Center when the cannon went off at 5 a.m. Monday, starting the 750-mile journey from Port Townsend to Ketchikan, Alaska. (Steve Mullensky/for Peninsula Daily News)
And they’re off to the Proving Ground

Race to Alaska boats to leave Victoria on Thursday

With emotions running high, the skipper of the boat, Jordan Hanssen, and crewman Greg Spooner share a hug as the boat is pulled up the ramp under the eyes of spectators lining the dock at the Port Townsend Boat Haven on Monday. (Steve Mullensky/for Peninsula Daily News)
Rowboat that set record recycled

Ceremonial ‘wake’ held for 30-foot vessel

Burn ban in effect in Jefferson County

Clallam County to prohibit fires by July 1

Simon Little is the new Port Townsend School Board Director for District 2. The board on June 1 selected Little to fill the position after Jeffrey Taylor resigned in March. (Port Townsend School District)
Port Townsend School Board fills District 2 position

Appointee will serve through end of year

Race Street closures set this week in Port Angeles

Race Street will be closed between Eighth and 10th… Continue reading

Jefferson Transit to use an electric bus

Agency’s future is with alternative-fuel vehicles

Northwest Maritime Center volunteer Brad Bebout, left, stands ready to assist team Beasts From the East, Ivan Medvedev and Egor Klevak, front, both from Seattle, as they finish first the 70-mile paddle from Tacoma to Port Townsend on Saturday morning. (Steve Mullensky/for Peninsula Daily News)
Race to Alaska starts today

Beasts from the East wins SEVENTY/48

Fire crews fight beach blaze, structure fire

Two fires over the weekend in the Four Seasons… Continue reading

McDonald Creek fish passage gets no bids again

Contractors say it’s too ‘intricate, tricky’

Most Read