Hopefuls file for office on first day

Port of Port Angeles only contested position

EDITOR’S NOTE: Corrections have been made concerning the Forks Community Hospital and Olympic Medical Center commissions as well as the Sequim School Board and the Quilcene Cemetery Board.

More than 50 candidates filed for various elected positions across the North Olympic Peninsula on Monday, the first day of candidate filing period, which ends Friday.

Positions with more than two candidates will be contested in the Aug. 1 primary election. The top two candidates for each position will appear on the Nov. 7 general election ballot.

There are four positions open for the Port Angeles City Council. Navarra Carr filed Monday.

As of Monday, Deputy Mayor Brendan Meyer and council member Charlie McCaughan had not filed for reelection.

Council member Amy Miller, who was appointed to her seat on the council in January, filling the Position 2 seat left vacant by Mike French, had not filed as of Monday. However, if she does, she would face off against Drew Schwab, who filed Monday for the seat.

Sequim City Council also has four seats up for grabs, including Mayor Tom Ferrell, who filed for reelection for Position 7.

Council member William Armacost filed for reelection for Position 1.

As of Monday afternoon, neither Kathy Downer nor Lowell Rathburn had filed, and no challengers had filed for Positions 2 and 6, respectively.

At the Port of Port Angeles, incumbent Connie Beauvais will face off against Lee Whetham for the commissioner Position 3. Beauvais has served as a Port of Port Angeles commissioner since 2016.

Amy Kitchel Ruble and Chuck Carlson have both filed to run for Position 2 for the Forks Community Hospital (Clallam Public Hospital District 1) commission.

Incumbents John Nutter and Philip Guintoli are seeking re-election to their respective positions on the Olympic MedicalCenter (Clallam Public Hospital District 2) commission.

There are three open positions for the Port Angeles School District board. As of Monday, board Vice President Sandy Long had filed for reelection to Position 4. Position 3 seatholder Katie Marks and Position 5 incumbent Jacob Wright had not filed, nor had any challengers.

The Sequim School District, which includes a small portion of Jefferson County voters, has five open positions on the board. Four incumbents filed for re-election, including current board President Eric Pickens for Position 3, Larry Jeffrys for Position 1, Maron Halverson for Position 4, and Michael Rocha for at large Position 5.

Derek Huntington filed Monday to run against Halverson, and Sandra Kellso filed to run against Rocha.

Clallam County Fire Districts 2, 4, 5, and 6 each have at least one position open with at least one filing.

Dan Huff filed to run for Position 1 for Fire District 2, Bruce Leiper for Position 2 for Fire District 4, Tony Pendleton for Position 1 for Fire District 5 and Scott Horton for Position 1 for Fire District 6.

Jean Monro will run for Position 5 on the Clallam County Parks and Recreation Board, a spot currently held by Ray Henniger, who has not filed for reelection.

Four positions are open in the Quillayute Valley Parks and Recreation District. Susie Brandelius is running for Position 2, David Gedund for Position 3, Nedra Reed for Position 4 and Gordon Gibbs for Position 5.

Andy Brett is running for Black Diamond Water District Position 1.

In Jefferson County, four seats are open for the Port Townsend City Council and all four incumbents had filed by Monday afternoon. Monica Mickhager will run for Position 3, Owen Rowe for Position 4, Amy Howard for Position 6, and Mayor David Faber for Position 7.

For the Port of Port Townsend, incumbent Pam Petranek will face off against Chuck Fauls for the District 1 position.

Only one position is open for the Jefferson Healthcare hospital, with incumbent Bruce McComas running for Position 1.

David Dickson has filed to run for Position 1 on the West Jefferson County Hospital board and Brian Hoctor for Position 2.

Bill Barnet is seeking reelection to the Brinnon School Board for Position 4 and Joshua Cunningham is running for Position 2.

In the Quilcene School District, Positions 1, 3 and 4 are open. Ron Frantz is running for Position 1, Viviann Kuehl for Position 3 and Anne Bessey for Position 4.

Kristine Mayer, the chair of the board for the Chimacum School District, has filed to run for Position 3. She was first elected to the board in 2019.

John Nowak will seek reelection to the Port Townsend School District board, while Shasta Berg filed to run for Position 5, which is currently vacant.

Dorothy Cook has filed to run for Position 1 for the Queets/Clearwater School District.

Quilcene Fire District 2 and Brinnon Fire District 4 both have one position open. Marcia Kelbon has filed for Position 3 in Quilcene and Richard Moore for Position 1 in Brinnon.

Two positions are open for the Coyle/Thorndyke Parks & Rec district, with Thane Grooms running for Position 3 and Richard Hull for Position 5.

Mary Ann Stamper is the incumbent candidate who has filed for Position 2 in the Quilcene Cemetery District.


Reporter Ken Park can be reached at kpark@peninsuladailynews.com.

More in News

Racers in the Race to Alaska pass by the cheers and well wishes from the hundreds of spectators lining the docks at the Northwest Maritime Center when the cannon went off at 5 a.m. Monday, starting the 750-mile journey from Port Townsend to Ketchikan, Alaska. (Steve Mullensky/for Peninsula Daily News)
And they’re off to the Proving Ground

Race to Alaska boats to leave Victoria on Thursday

With emotions running high, the skipper of the boat, Jordan Hanssen, and crewman Greg Spooner share a hug as the boat is pulled up the ramp under the eyes of spectators lining the dock at the Port Townsend Boat Haven on Monday. (Steve Mullensky/for Peninsula Daily News)
Rowboat that set record recycled

Ceremonial ‘wake’ held for 30-foot vessel

Burn ban in effect in Jefferson County

Clallam County to prohibit fires by July 1

Simon Little is the new Port Townsend School Board Director for District 2. The board on June 1 selected Little to fill the position after Jeffrey Taylor resigned in March. (Port Townsend School District)
Port Townsend School Board fills District 2 position

Appointee will serve through end of year

Race Street closures set this week in Port Angeles

Race Street will be closed between Eighth and 10th… Continue reading

Jefferson Transit to use an electric bus

Agency’s future is with alternative-fuel vehicles

Northwest Maritime Center volunteer Brad Bebout, left, stands ready to assist team Beasts From the East, Ivan Medvedev and Egor Klevak, front, both from Seattle, as they finish first the 70-mile paddle from Tacoma to Port Townsend on Saturday morning. (Steve Mullensky/for Peninsula Daily News)
Race to Alaska starts today

Beasts from the East wins SEVENTY/48

Fire crews fight beach blaze, structure fire

Two fires over the weekend in the Four Seasons… Continue reading

McDonald Creek fish passage gets no bids again

Contractors say it’s too ‘intricate, tricky’

Most Read