Candidate filing period begins

The filing period for candidates running for office in Washington state this year begins today and extends through Friday.

Five offices are open in Clallam County and four in Jefferson County, as well as all three Legislative District 24 seats and the 6th Congressional District seat, both of which North Olympic Peninsula voters will help decide.

Also on the ballot this year will be the U.S. president and state offices, including the governor.

The primary election will be Aug. 4, with the general election Nov. 3. Military overseas ballots are to be mailed by June 19; domestic ballots by July 15.

Although formal filing opens today, several candidates have announced their candidacies.

Incumbent Derek Kilmer, D-Gig Harbor, is facing a Democratic opponent this year as well as a Republican challenger for the District 6 Congressional seat that Kilmer has held for four terms, since 2013. District 6 includes the North Olympic Peninsula.

Democrat Rebecca Parson of Tacoma describes herself as the Tacoma Area Disabilities Commissioner, tenants’ rights organizer, small business owner, and a member of the Democratic Socialists of America.

Republican Elizabeth Kreiselmaier of Gig Harbor describes herself as having been a full-time mother for the past 18 years. Before then, she worked as a project director at Wested/Far West Laboratory after earning a doctorate in special education, management and counseling psychology, according to her website.

Clallam County candidates who have publicly stated their intention to run or already filed for office with the state Public Disclosure Commission (PDC), allowing them to raise campaign funds, include Randy Johnson, incumbent Port Angeles-area District 2 county commissioner

Johnson has registered with the PDC with no party preference.

Incumbent Position 1 Superior Court Judge Lauren Erickson, recently appointed Position 2 Superior Court Judge Simon Barnhart, and incumbent Position 3 Superior Court Judge Brent Basden have said they intend to run for their positions.

Clallam County candidates also include Patti Morris and Neil Knutson for Position 2 Public Utility District commissioner, both of whom have registered with the PDC, and all Republican and Democratic party precinct officers.

All precinct officers also are up for election in Jefferson County.

Jefferson County candidates include incumbent Position 1 Democratic County Commissioner Kate Dean, incumbent PUD Commissioner Kenneth Collins, and incumbent Superior Court Judge Keith Harper, all of whom have registered with the PDC as candidates.

None have drawn challengers.

Democrats Amanda Rae Funaro, Heidi Eisenhour and Lorna Smith have registered for the Position 2 county commissioner seat held by David Sullivan, who is not running for re-election.

Any seat with three or more candidates will appear on the Aug. 4 primary election ballot to narrow the field down to two candidates.

All three state legislators in the 24th District, which covers Clallam and Jefferson counties and part of Grays Harbor County, have said they plan to run for re-election.

Incumbent 24th District Democratic state Sen. Kevin Van Wege and incumbent 24th District Democratic state Reps. Mike Chapman and Steve Tharinger have filed for re-election with the PDC.

The state legislators have all drawn challengers.

Republican Sue Forde of Sequim and Jodi Wilke of Port Hadlock have registered with the PDC to run against Chapman for his Position 1 seat.

Republican Brian Pruiett of Carlsborg has registered to run against Tharinger for his Position 2 seat.

Republican Connie Beauvais of Joyce has registered to run against Van De Wege, the district’s lone state senator.

Danille Turissini of Port Ludlow also has filed for Van De Wege’s position, listing her party preference as “other.”

She ran unsuccessfully against Van De Wege in 2016.

Candidates have been urged to file online on county government websites, given COVID-19 concerns.

Jefferson County candidates can file at

In Clallam County, the link for candidate filing will be placed on the website at at the beginning of filing week, according to the county auditor.

Although the offices are closed to in-person traffic, help from the county auditor’s offices is available by calling 360-417-2217 in Clallam County and 360-385-9117 in Jefferson County.