Kilmer draws four opponents for congressional seat

The top-two Aug. 4 primary for the 6th Congressional District seat held by a Port Angeles native grew to five candidates Thursday.

Johny Alberg, of the Kitsap County town of Olalla, filed as a Republican for the position occupied by four-term incumbent Democrat Derek Kilmer of Gig Harbor.

The district includes Clallam and Jefferson counties.

Alberg, who could not be reached for comment, did not include an email address or phone number with candidate registration information and is not on Facebook or LinkedIn.

Alberg joins Republican Elizabeth Kreiselmaier of Gig Harbor, Republican Chris Welton of Bremerton and Democrat Rebecca Parson of Tacoma on the primary ballot.

Alberg’s candidacy was the only new filing Thursday in Clallam and Jefferson counties for county or state legislative offices.

There also will be top-two primary elections for at least one Clallam County and one Jefferson County position.

Democrats Amanda Rae Funaro and Heidi Eisenhour of Port Hadlock and Lorna Smith of Port Townsend are running for the Position 2 Jefferson County commissioner seat.

Incumbent Democrat David Sullivan is not running for re-election.

In Clallam County, Rick Paschall of Sequim, Marty Michaelis of Sequim, Neil Knutson of Carlsborg and Patti Morris of Port Angeles have filed for the Public Utility District commissioner District 2 seat being vacated by David Anderson.

District 2 Clallam County Commissioner Randy Johnson, who listed no party preference, and Jefferson County District 1 Commissioner Kate Dean, a Port Townsend Democrat, also filed for re-election.

They had no opponents as of late Thursday afternoon.

The 24th Legislative District’s three incumbents all have challengers. The district includes Clallam and Jefferson counties and the northern half of Grays Harbor County.

Republicans Sue Forde of Sequim and Daniel Charles Svoboda of Port Hadlock have filed for Position 1 held by Democratic state Rep. Mike Chapman of Port Angeles.

Republican Brian Pruiett of Carlsborg has registered to run against Democratic state Rep. Steve Tharinger of Port Townsend for his Position 2 seat.

In February 2019, Port Hadlock Republican Jodi Wilke registered with the state Public Disclosure Commission to run for Tharinger’s position.

While she has not withdrawn her registration, she told Peninsula Daily News in August that she is “not a candidate for anything.”

She could not be reached for comment Thursday.

Republican Connie Beauvais of Joyce, a Port of Port Angeles commissioner, is running against incumbent Democratic state Sen. Kevin Van De Wege of Sequim.

Incumbent Clallam County Superior Court Judges Lauren Erickson and Brent Basden also are running for re-election.

Simon Barnhart, the recent Clallam County Superior Court appointee who will take office June 1, when Judge Brian Coughenour retires, has filed to run for the position.

Incumbent Jefferson County Superior Court Position 1 Judge Keith Harper has filed for re-election, and so has incumbent Jefferson County Public Utility District Commissioner Kenneth Collins.

The filing period closes today.


Senior Staff Writer Paul Gottlieb can be reached at 360-452-2345, ext. 55650, or at [email protected].