Four Washington electors to be fined $1,000 for their vote

The Associated Press

OLYMPIA — The secretary of state’s office said that four electors who cast their vote for someone other than Democrat Hillary Clinton will each be fined $1,000.

David Ammons, a spokesman for Secretary of State Kim Wyman told The Associated Press on Thursday that the electors will have 60 days to pay the fine, and said the office is putting together an appeals process in case of a challenge.

During last Monday’s Electoral College vote in Olympia, Clinton got eight votes, while former Secretary of State Colin Powell got three and Native American tribal elder and activist Faith Spotted Eagle got one vote.

That action violated a 40-year-old law that says that any elector who votes for a person not nominated by the party of which he or she is an elector is subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000, Ammons said.

The four “faithless” electors are Esther John, Peter Chiafalo, Levi Guerra and Robert Satiacum.

The last time an elector broke from the popular vote in the state was in 1976, when Mike Padden of Spokane Valley, who is currently a Republican state senator, voted for Ronald Reagan in 1976 instead of Gerald Ford, who had won the state.

The fine — which has never previously been imposed — was first established by the state Legislature following Padden’s vote in 1976.

A group called the Hamilton Electors, co-founded by Chiafalo, had sought to block the election of Donald Trump to the presidency by encouraging both Democratic and Republican electors in every state to unite behind an alternate Republican candidate.

Trump won 306 electoral votes to Clinton’s 232 in the Nov. 8 general election, although Clinton won the popular vote by a margin of nearly 2.9 million votes.

It takes 270 electoral votes to elect a president.

However, it is the electors of the Electoral College who actually cast the vote for the next president of the United States.

The 32nd Washington Electoral College convened last Monday. Vice President Biden, as president of the Senate, will preside over a joint session of Congress on Jan. 6.

The new president will be inaugurated Jan. 20.

In the Electoral College process, basically a winner-take-all by state, each state gets electors equal to the number of its U.S. senators and representatives.

That’s 12 for Washington state.

Washington is among the 11 states that has signed the National Popular Vote compact to move to a popular vote.

More states would need to join, collectively having a majority of the electoral votes, to trigger the law.

More in Politics

Michael Dashiell /Olympic Peninsula News Group

Cherie Kidd and Bruce Emery (seated), candidates for Clallam County Director of Community Development, speak at a debate hosted by the Rotary Club of Sequim at the Dungeness River Center.
Clallam County hopefuls offer resumes

Emery, Kidd debate DCD seat after primary

Voter turnout more than 50 percent on Peninsula

Primary participation in Clallam, Jefferson counties tops state’s

Greg Brotherton, left, and Marcia Kelbon.
Jefferson County position narrowed to two

Brotherton, Kelbon set for November

Brian Pruiett.
Incumbents lead in District 24 race

Chapman, Tharinger, Forde, Pruiett moving on

Voter turnout on Peninsula tops state’s

Clallam County over 36 percent; Jefferson nearly 40 percent

Two-candidate races to be continued in November

Races for Clallam County Commissioner District 3 and the Jefferson County Sheriff… Continue reading

Washington state’s Primary Election is Tuesday, and ballots must be postmarked or dropped at an official drop box by 8 p.m. that day. (Peter Segall / Peninsula Daily News)
Clallam County primary ballots due on Tuesday

Contests for DCD director, state seats

Greg Brotherton.
District 3 commissioner candidates spar over regulations

Regulatory reform at center of discussion

Jefferson County sheriff candidates tell views

Candidates in agreement on immigration, community policing

Brian Pruiett, a Republican candidate for state House of Representatives District 24, Position 2, left, speaks during a candidate debate at Joshua’s Restaurant in Port Angeles on Tuesday. Pruiett is challenging incumbent Steve Tharinger, a Democrat who’s held the seat since 2010, seated at right. (Peter Segall/Peninsula Daily News)
State hopefuls trade barbs

Pruiett, Tharinger vie for House seat