Candidate forums set in October for Jefferson County

Three public forums are coming in October in Jefferson County for 18 candidates seeking elected positions this fall with the Port Townsend and Chimacum school districts, Port of Port Townsend and Port Townsend City Council.

All three will be at 7 p.m.

“The League of Women Voters of Jefferson County and AAUW-Port Townsend are sponsoring these forums as a service to Jefferson County voters,” said forums Chair Dennis Daneau of the League of Women Voters.

“The forums will help voters get the information they need to make informed choices in the Nov. 5 general election.”

Daneau said that AAUW members nationwide are encouraging young millennial voters to get registered and vote in November.

There is no charge to attend these events. Coffee and cookies will be available during breaks; tip jar contributions are encouraged.

Here is the schedule.

Oct. 1 — Port Townsend Community Center, 620 Tyler St.; moderator, Siobhan Canty

Part 1, which will be about 30 minutes, will be Port Townsend School Board seat for District 3 with candidates Doug Ross and Harold J. (Jim) Sherwood.

Nathanael O’Hara, incumbent and uncontested candidate for the District 5 seat on the School Board, will be invited to attend. He will be introduced and can meet the public during breaks but will not take part in the forum under League policy.

Part 2, which will be about an hour, will focus on the Port of Port Townsend Commission, District 1 seat with candidates Chuck Fauls and Pam Petranek.

Oct. 10 — Port Townsend Community Center; moderator, Shelly Randall

Port Townsend City Council candidates for Position 3, Monica MickHager and incumbent Deborah Stinson; Position 6, Bernie Arthur and incumbent Amy Howard; and Position 7, incumbent David Faber and Tyler Myles Vega.

About 30 minutes will be devoted to each position.

Owen Rowe, uncontested candidate for Position 4, will be invited to attend. He will be introduced and can meet the public during breaks but will not take part in the forum.

Oct. 14 — Tri-Area Community Center, 10 West Valley Road, Chimacum; moderator, Renee Klein

Chimacum School Board candidates for Position 2, Mike Aman and Mickey Nagy; Position 3, Steve Martin and Kristina Mayer; Position 4: appointee Michael Raymond and Tami Robocker.

About 30 minutes will be devoted to each position.

For more information, contact Daneau at [email protected]

More in Politics

EYE ON CONGRESS: House to vote to extend surveillance procedures

The House will vote this week on extending the Foreign… Continue reading

Coffee with the Mayor to be broadcast

Mayor William Armacost will host Coffee with the Mayor at… Continue reading

Primary battles line up in 2020 elections

State Rep. Steve Tharinger of Port Townsend has a primary battle on… Continue reading

Kilmer draws four opponents for congressional seat

The top-two Aug. 4 primary for the 6th Congressional District seat held… Continue reading

Third opponent files against Kilmer for Congressional seat

Chris Welton making first campaign as a candidate for elective office

Candidate: COVID-19 changes election season

Social-distancing guidelines could severely limit forums

State House races highlight candidate filings

Economic impact of virus one of top issues

Candidate filing period begins

The filing period for candidates running for office in Washington state this… Continue reading

States with few virus cases get big share of relief aid

Alaska, Hawaii, Montana, Wyoming, plus some smaller states, took in an out-sized proportion