25 candidates sign up for 21 offices in Jefferson County in first day of filing week

Four positions field multiple candidates

PORT TOWNSEND — The first day of filing week saw 25 candidates sign up for 21 offices with the Jefferson County elections office.

Four positions have multiple candidates.

For Port Townsend City Council, Mayor Deborah Stinson, who is seeking re-election to her Position 3 seat, will be challenged by Monica MickHager, currently on the city Planning Commission.

David Faber is running for re-election, seeking a second term in Position 7.

Owen Rowe, chair of the Port Townsend Arts Commission, has filed his intention for Position 4, the seat currently held by council member Bob Gray, who is not seeking re-election.

Another contested position will be the Port of Port Townsend Commissioner District 1 seat, currently held by Steve Tucker, who is not seeking re-election. Chuck Fauls, a port employee, will face Pam Petranek, a fisherman and board member of the Port Townsend Marine Trades Association.

Other positions include:

East Jefferson County Hospital District No. 2: Incumbents Matt Ready, commissioner, Position 3, and Jill Buhler Reinstra Commissioner, Position 5, are running for re-election.

Brinnon School District No. 46: Three incumbents are looking to retain their seats: Ron Stephens is seeking re-election to at-large Position 2; Joe Baisch to Position 3; and Bill Barnet to Position 4.

Quilcene School District No. 48: Incumbent Viviann Kuehl is seeking re-election to her District 3 position.

Chimacum School District No. 49: Mickey Nacy is looking to fill the unexpired District 2 term of LuAnn Rogers, who resigned her position after she moved last month from the district she was appointed to represent in 2017.

Port Townsend School District No. 50: Harold (Jim) Sherwood is seeking election to the District 1 position.

Sequim School District No. 323: Two candidates are seeking the District 3 Position in incumbent Jim Stoffer and challenger Beth Smithson. Larry Jeffreys is seeking Position 1 and Eric Pickens, Position 5.

East Jefferson Fire-Rescue: David Seabrook is seeking re-election as commissioner, Position 1.

Brinnon Fire District No. 4: Meril Smith is seeking re-election as commissioner, Position 3.

Discovery Bay Fire District No. 5: Barbara Knoepfle is seeking re-election as commissioner, Position 3.

Clallam-Jefferson Fire Protection District No. 3: Two candidates have field for commissioner, Position 3 in James Barnfeather and William (Bill) Miano.

Brinnon Water District No. 2: Fred Stern is seeking re-election as commissioner, Position 1.

Coyle-Thorndike Park and Recreation District No. 1: Cathy Bohman is seeking re-election as to commissioner, Position 4.


Jefferson County Reporter Jeannie McMacken can be reached at 360-385-2335 or at [email protected].

More in Politics

EYE ON CONGRESS: House to vote to extend surveillance procedures

The House will vote this week on extending the Foreign… Continue reading

Coffee with the Mayor to be broadcast

Mayor William Armacost will host Coffee with the Mayor at… Continue reading

Primary battles line up in 2020 elections

State Rep. Steve Tharinger of Port Townsend has a primary battle on… Continue reading

Kilmer draws four opponents for congressional seat

The top-two Aug. 4 primary for the 6th Congressional District seat held… Continue reading

Third opponent files against Kilmer for Congressional seat

Chris Welton making first campaign as a candidate for elective office

Candidate: COVID-19 changes election season

Social-distancing guidelines could severely limit forums

State House races highlight candidate filings

Economic impact of virus one of top issues

Candidate filing period begins

The filing period for candidates running for office in Washington state this… Continue reading

States with few virus cases get big share of relief aid

Alaska, Hawaii, Montana, Wyoming, plus some smaller states, took in an out-sized proportion