New principals announced at several Port Angeles schools

Jeff Lunt

Jeff Lunt

PORT ANGELES — The Port Angeles School District has announced a number of personnel moves for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Jeff Lunt

Jeff Lunt

Jeff Lunt has been appointed principal at Port Angeles High School.

Lunt had been the principal at Franklin Elementary School for the past four years and, prior to that, was the assistant principal at the high school for seven years.

Lunt replaces Tanner Zahrt, who has moved to the district office as director of student programs and communication.

Madelene Cundall

Madelene Cundall

Madelene Cundall will be the principal at Roosevelt Elementary School.

Cundall previously served the district as dean of students at Dry Creek Elementary School.

She is replacing Jennifer Van De Wege, who is moving to the Tenino School District.

Melissa McBride

Melissa McBride

Melissa McBride has been appointed principal of Stevens Middle School.

McBride has served in the district for 20 years as both a teacher and as the dean of students at Stevens.

She replaces Kristen Lunt, who is moving to the Sequim School District, where she will take over as the principal of Sequim Middle School.

Britney Martin

Britney Martin

Britney Martin has been appointed principal of Franklin Elementary School.

Martin has been with the district for eight years as dean of students at Dry Creek Elementary School and has been the interim principal at Franklin since Jeff Lunt’s move to the high school.

More in News

Ridge ski season opens Saturday

Finally, enough snow falls for winter sports

Work progresses on the road deck of the main over-water spans at the site of a new U.S. Highway 101 bridge over the Elwha River southwest of Port Angeles on Thursday. The bridge will replace an older nearby span that was determined to have structurally-deficient pier footings. The $36 million project is expected to be completed in December.
Elwha River bridge construction

Work progresses on the road deck of the main over-water spans at… Continue reading

Clallam Community Service Awards nominations deadline April 1

Nominations for the 2024 Clallam County Community Service Awards… Continue reading

Road work to begin near Forks

Contractor crews will begin construction of a temporary bridge on… Continue reading

A gate and concrete barricades block the north end of Towne Road as it reaches the new Dungeness River levee on Tuesday northwest of Sequim. (Keith Thorpe/Peninsula Daily News)
Residents provide Towne Road feedback

More than 30 express opinions on project

Point Hudson Marina slated to be open today

Port of Port Townsend plans grand opening ceremony on April 24

Firefighters extinguished a fire in an RV near Olympic Medical Center on Wednesday in Port Angeles. No one was injured. (Port Angeles Fire Department)
No one injured in RV fire

No one was injured following an RV fire at… Continue reading

Mobile Healing Clinic to start in Clallam Bay on Monday

RV offers similar MAT services as Sequim facility

Finalists for the 2023 Sequim-Dungeness Valley Chamber Commerce’s Citizen of the Year award include, front row, from left, Carol Labbe and Pauline Olsen. Not pictured is the award recipient, Renne Emiko Brock, who was unable to attend the chamber’s annual awards luncheon on Tuesday. Pictured with Labbe and Olsen are, back row, from left, chamber President Eran Kennedy, chamber Executive Director Beth Pratt and Lorie Fazio, Citizen of the Year committee chair. (Michael Dashiell/Olympic Peninsula News Group)
Art advocate Brock named Sequim Citizen of Year

Labbe, Olsen finalists for town’s top civic award