Votes counted in legislative races

OLYMPIA — District 24 legislators received more votes than their challengers in Tuesday’s primary election.

Incumbents and their challengers will face off in the general election on Nov. 6. The primary results gives a sense of how voters are leaning.

Four-term incumbent 24th District state Rep. Steve Tharinger of Sequim, the Position 2 Democrat, had 21,804 votes, or 59.97 percent, to the 14,553 votes, or 40.03 percent, won by former Clallam County Commissioner Jim McEntire of Sequim, a Republican, districtwide in the initial count Tuesday.

In Clallam County, totals were 10,484 votes, or 56.28 percent, for Tharinger and 8,143 votes, or 43.72 percent, for McEntire.

In Jefferson County, the totals were 7,802 votes, or 70.12 percent for Tharinger and 3,324 votes, or 29.88 percent, for McEntire.

One-term incumbent 24th District state Rep. Mike Chapman of Port Angeles, the Position 1 Democrat, had 22,585 votes, or 61.48 percent, compared to Republican challenger Jodi Wilke of Port Townsend, who had 14,150 votes, or 38.52 percent districtwide.

In Clallam County, totals were 11,090 votes, or 59.16 percent, for Chapman and 7,656 votes, or 40.84 percent, for Wilke.

In Jefferson County, the totals were 7,914 votes, or 70.13 percent, for Chapman and 3,396 votes, or 29.87 percent, for Wilke.

The 24th District includes Clallam and Jefferson counties and the northern half of Grays Harbor County.

Positions 1 and 2 are two-year seats.

Second counts of ballots are planned Thursday in Jefferson County and Friday in Clallam County.

Other counties will be counting more ballots throughout the week.

The 24th District is one of two targeted by Republicans this year.

The other is 19th District, which covers Aberdeen, Montesano and Longview.

Democrats now hold a majority in both chambers: 50-48 in the House and 25-24 in the Senate.

Republicans are seeking to flip one seat in the House to create a tie.

They have been targeting Democrats in swing districts or those they perceive to trend Republican.