Fire district elections show some clear winners

Neris Biciunas

Neris Biciunas

Clallam-Jefferson Fire Protection District 3 appointee Steven Chinn apparently was elected against Sean Ryan for the short- and full-term, six-year Position 2 seat after the first count of general election ballots Tuesday.

The district includes Sequim in Clallam County and edges into Jefferson County.

In Clallam County, Chinn received 80.4 percent, or 5,679 votes, and Ryan took 19.6 percent, or 1,384 votes. Jefferson County voters gave Chinn 74.77 percent, or 83 votes, and Ryan 25.23 percent, or 28 votes.

Out of 7,174 votes in both counties, Chinn received 80.32 percent, or 5,762 votes, and Ryan took 19.68 percent or 1,412 votes.

Vying for the Position 1 seat in Quilcene Fire District 2, Art Frank received 71.84 percent, or 398 votes, while Wayne Siscoe received 28.16 percent, or 156 votes.

In Clallam-Jefferson Fire District 1, which covers the Forks area and part of Jefferson County, Anthony “Tony” Romberg was in the lead for Position 5.

In Clallam County, Romberg received 72.48 percent, or 432 votes. In Jefferson County, he received three votes.

This race was unusual for a general election in that it had three candidates, including Neris Biciunas and John Witherspoon.

In Clallam County, Biciunas received 14.09 percent, or 84 votes, and Witherspoon took 13.42 percent, or 80 votes.

In Jefferson County, Biciunas received three votes and Witherspoon zero.

Romberg was appointed to the post after incumbent Lowell McQuoid’s fellow commissioners removed him from office May 14, saying he had violated the district’s meeting-attendance policy by missing too many meetings.

The district did not notify the Clallam County Auditor’s Office in time to provide sufficient time for candidates to file during the regular filing period. Three candidates filed for the position during a special May 30-June 1 filing period for the general election.

In other Forks Fire District 1 races, which covers part of Jefferson County, Dustin Kraft was leading Jodi Riker for Position 1, and incumbent Chet Hunt was leading Britni Duncan for Position 2.

In Clallam County, Kraft received 73.07 percent, or 407 votes, while his opponent, Jodi Riker, received 26.93 percent, or 150 votes.

In Jefferson County, Kraft and Riker tied in the first count of ballots, both receiving 50 percent, or three votes each.

In the total count from both counties, Kraft received 72.82 percent, or 410 votes, and Riker received 27.18 percent, or 153 votes.

For the Position 2 seat, Hunt received 69.18 percent of the vote in Clallam County, or 422 votes. In Jefferson County, he received 71.43 percent, or five votes. Duncan received 30.82 percent of the vote in Clallam County, or 188 votes. In Jefferson County, she received 28.57 percent, or two votes.

Of 617 votes in both counties, Hunt took 69.21 percent, or 427 votes, and Duncan had 30.79 percent, or 190 votes.

In Clallam County Fire District 2, incumbent Tom Martin received 62.74 percent, or 985 votes, for the six-year Position 1 seat, and Patricia Reifenstahl received 37.26 percent, or 585 votes.

In Clallam County Fire District 5 — which covers Clallam Bay, Sekiu and surrounding West End areas — incumbent Roy (Spider) Wright received 64.86 percent, or 72 votes, for Position 1, a six-year term. Wright’s opponent, Michael Maines Jr., received 35.14 percent, or 39 votes.

John Witherspoon

John Witherspoon

Dustin Kraft

Dustin Kraft

Jodi Riker

Jodi Riker

Patricia Reifenstahl

Patricia Reifenstahl

Steven Chinn

Steven Chinn

Sean Ryan

Sean Ryan

Art Frank

Art Frank

More in Politics

Cantwell, Hutchison meet in second Washington Senate debate

Candidates in Washington’s U.S. senate race clashed… Continue reading

Clallam commissioner talks Elwha Valley, opioid addiction, murrelets in D.C.

Clallam County Commissioner Bill Peach recently returned from Washington,… Continue reading

A view from D.C.: Jefferson County commissioner says content ‘disappointing’

Jefferson County Commissioner Kate Dean recently spent time in… Continue reading

Legislature hopefuls discuss carbon fee, idea of sanctuary state at forum

The four candidates vying to represent the 24th Legislative… Continue reading

State officials brace voting systems against hacking

Election officials in Washington continue to bolster… Continue reading

Clallam County District Court 1 candidates promise change

Suzanne Hayden and Dave Neupert outlined their visions for… Continue reading

Clallam panel candidates spar on carbon tax, climate change

The two candidates for District 3 Clallam County commissioner disagreed… Continue reading

Kilmer, Dightman clash on national park, climate change

Dr. Douglas Dightman, a Republican seeking to unseat U.S.… Continue reading

Jefferson County commission candidates compare backgrounds, views

Candidates for the Jefferson County commission, Democrat Greg Brotherton… Continue reading

Most Read