Readers Theatre Plus' 'Dewey' awards up for vote
Click here to zoom...
Diane Urbani de la Paz/Peninsula Daily News
Damon Little, star of “A Thousand Clowns” at the Sequim Prairie Grange Hall last winter, is among the actors up for Readers Theatre Plus Dewey Awards.

By Diane Urbani de la Paz
Peninsula Daily News

SEQUIM — Sequim's version of the Tony Awards, known in these parts as the Deweys, is about to begin — with local theater lovers acting as the academy.

Ballots are due this Wednesday for the Dewey Awards, honors bestowed upon the volunteers who direct and perform in Readers Theatre Plus productions in Sequim.

Deweys are given for favorite director, lead and supporting actors and actresses, and favorite performing ensemble from Readers Theatre Plus' 2013-14 season, which included five plays and musicals.

Vote by email

It doesn't cost a thing to vote, but ballots must be emailed to by midnight Wednesday.

Those who would rather use regular mail should send their ballots to Readers Theatre Plus, P.O. Box 395, Carlsborg, WA 98324-9997.

“The awards are named, of course, in honor of our friend, mentor and all-around good guy, Maestro Dewey Ehling,” noted Paul Martin, a Readers Theatre Plus board member and publicist.

Ehling, the musical director of many Readers Theatre Plus productions as well as conductor of the Peninsula Singers and Port Townsend Community Orchestra, directed last summer's “The Mikado” and was a cast member in November's “The Winter Wonderettes.”

He's up for two of the awards bearing his name, as the Readers Theatre Plus board sees absolutely no problem with that.

The Dewey Awards ceremony is open to the public at 5 p.m. Sunday, May 4, at the Sequim Prairie Grange Hall.

“Just RSVP when you return your ballot,” Martin said.

Here's the 2013-14 Dewey Awards ballot, for filling out and mailing to Readers Theatre Plus:

Dewey Award — Director

■ Dewey Ehling, “The Mikado.”

■ Ric Munhall, “A Century of Sequim.”

■ Dewey Ehling, “The Winter Wonderettes.”

■ Janice Parks, “A Thousand Clowns.”

■ Ron Graham, “Olive and the Bitter Herbs.”

Dewey Award — Lead Actor

■ Joel Yelland, “The Mikado.”

■ Al Friess, “A Century of Sequim.”

■ Ric Munhall, “A Thousand Clowns.”

Dewey Award — Lead Actress

■ Linda Grubb, “The Mikado.”

■ Cheri Lemley, “A Century of Sequim.”

■ Barbara Drennan, “Olive and the Bitter Herbs.”

Dewey Award — Supporting Actor

■ John Silver, “The Mikado.”

■ Art Moore, “A Century of Sequim.”

■ Damon Little, “A Thousand Clowns.”

Dewey Award — Supporting Actress

■ Karen Pritchard, “The Mikado.”

■ Bettelee Hall, “A Century of Sequim.”

■ Valerie Lape, “A Thousand Clowns.”

■ Kath Beecher, “Olive and the Bitter Herbs.”

Dewey Award — Ensemble

■ “The Mikado”: Joel Yelland, John Silver, Carl Honore.

■ “The Winter Wonderettes”: Janice Parks, Elise Ray, Kyra Humphrey, Vickie Helwick.

■ “A Thousand Clowns”: Don White, Jeff Clinton, Jim Dries, Debbie Leach.

■ “Olive and the Bitter Herbs”: Jim Dries, Pat Owens, Peter Greene, Don White, Jeff Clinton.


Features Editor Diane Urbani de la Paz can be reached at 360-452-2345, ext. 5062, or at

Last modified: April 12. 2014 5:22PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2016 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us