PREP BASKETBALL: Neah Bay's Venske, Moss named North Olympic League MVPs; other area honors
Click here to zoom...
Lonnie Archibald/for Peninsula Daily News
Neah Bay’s Abraham Venske goes to the hoop against Wishkah Valley during the Red Devils’ regionals win at Mount Tahoma High School last month.

Peninsula Daily News

NEAH BAY — Postseason awards continue to roll in for North Olympic Peninsula basketball players.

Neah Bay's Abraham Venske and Cierra Moss were voted North Olympic League basketball MVPs by the league's boys and girls coaches.

Venske, the boys MVP, was the Red Devils' second-leading scorer this season, averaging 12.3 points per game.

The junior also averaged five rebounds, three assists and 2.1 steals per game, and helped Neah Bay finish third at the Class 1B state tournament in Spokane over the weekend.

Venske is joined on the boys all-league team by teammate Josiah Greene, Clallam Bay's Kelly Gregory and Travis Walker and Kaleb Dodson of Crescent.

Neah Bay senior Zeke Greene was named Defensive Player of the Year and Clallam Bay coach Kelly Gregory earned Coach of the Year honors.

Boys honorable mention recipients are Martin Waldrip (Crescent), Calvin Ritter (Clallam Bay), Zeke Greene, Ryan Moss (Neah Bay), Sam Signor (Clallam Bay) and Casey Randall (Clallam Bay).

Cierra Moss capped off a stellar career with a 40-point, 20-rebound game against Taholah on Friday that guaranteed the Red Devils a state trophy.

Earlier this season, Moss joined Neah Bay's 1,000-point club.

She finished the season averaging 25.1 points, 12.1 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 3.5 steals.

Neah Bay junior Faye Chartraw, Crescent's Shannon Williams and Lauren Hartley and Clallam Bay's Jeddie Herndon join Moss on the all-league team.

Chartraw also is the Defensive Player of the Year.

Kathleen Winter of Clallam Bay was chosen as Coach of the Year.

Girls honorable mentions: Inga Erickson (Clallam Bay), Haley Holgerson (Crescent), Holly Greene (Neah Bay) and Mariah LaChester (Clallam Bay).

PA's Hinrichs honored

Port Angeles senior guard Maddy Hinrichs was voted to the Class 2A state tournament second team by media members covering the tournament at the Yakima SunDome.

Hinrichs averaged nine points, six rebounds, three assists and three steals in the Roughriders' two games at state.

Julie Spencer of state champion W.F. West earned the 2A girls state tournament MVP award.

Quilcene's Weller named to first team

Quilecene sophomore guard Megan Weller was selected to the 1B Sea-Tac League First Team.

She averaged 18 points, five rebounds, three assists, three steals per game and shot 52 percent from the field this season.

Weller also was chosen as the Rangers' most valuable player at the team's end-of-season banquet last week, in which Quilcene celebrated its season that included a 11-11 record and a postseason berth.

Other team honors were: Most Inspirational: Taylor Burnston; Most Improved: Katlyn Hitt; Power Rebounder: Sammy Rae (averaged 12 rebounds per game); and the Mentor Award went to Allison Jones.

Nisqually awards

Chimacum's Orion Weller was voted Nisqually League boys basketball all-league honorable mention.

Chimacum girls players Lauren Thacker and Kiersten Snyder also received honorable mention.

Cedar Park Christian's Trey Drechsel was named Nisqually League boys MVP, while Kaelyn Voss of Eatonville was chosen as girls MVP.

Last modified: March 09. 2014 6:16PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2016 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us