PREP BASKETBALL: Area players honored by leagues
Click here to zoom...
Keith Thorpe/Peninsula Daily News
Sequim's Alex Barry, right, shoots a layup over North Kitsap's Ethan Graebner during their game last month.

Peninsula Daily News

[Editors Note: Updated to include Port Angeles junior Hunter Hathaway on the Olympic League Second Team]

The North Olympic Peninsula is well-represented on the All-Olympic League basketball teams, with players from Sequim, Port Angeles and Port Townsend filling five of the 10 spots on the boys and girls first teams.

Sequim's Alex Barry, a junior, and Port Townsend senior Paul Spaltenstein landed on the boys first team, while senior Derek Schumacher and junior Hunter Hathaway of Port Angeles earned places on the second team.

Sequim senior point guard Anthony Pinza was a surprising omission from the first and second teams, but received honorable mention accolades along with senior teammate Rory Kallappa.

Port Angeles senior guard Hayden Gunderson and Port Townsend senior guard Cody Russell were also named honorable mention.

Bremerton's Deonte Dixon was named Olympic League MVP and Knights coach Darren Bowden was selected as Coach of the Year.

Olympic received the team sportsmanship award.

Girls team honorees

On the girls side, senior guards Maddy Hinrichs and Krista Johnson of Port Angeles were joined by Port Townsend senior Jewel Johnson on the first team.

It is the second consecutive first-team nod for Hinrichs and Jewel Johnson.

Sequim post Alexas Besand was named to the second team and Wolves coach Evan Still was named Olympic League Coach of the Year.

Junior forwards Caitlin Stofferahn and Elise Beuke and sophomore guard McKenzie Bentz, all of Sequim, were given honorable mention, along with Port Angeles seniors Kylee Jeffers and Bailee Jones and Port Townsend senior post Jayde Richardson.

Bremerton's Sawyer Kluge was named Olympic League MVP.

North Mason won the sportsmanship award.

Evergreen 1A all-league

Forks junior guard Colton Raben was named to the Evergreen 1A League boys basketball all-league first team.

Raben's teammate, senior Leo Gonzalez, was named to the Evergreen's second team.

Zack Froembling of Rainier was named boys MVP, while Curtis Eccles of Hoquiam and Doug Galloway of Montesano were honored as the league's co-Coaches of the Year.

Forks' Austin Pegram and Andrew Armas were named Evergreen Academic All-League after posting grade point averages of 4.0 and 3.51, respectively.

Raben, Mark Adams, Parker Browning, Brady King, Billy Palmer and Peyton Rondeau earned certificates of recognition for academic excellence for posting GPA's of 3.0 or higher during the season.

Senior guard Courtnie Paul was the only Forks girl to receive all-league honors, earning second-team recognition.

Montesano freshman Jordan Spradlin was named Evergreen League girls MVP for the unbeaten Bulldogs.

Her coach, Julie Graves, was named Coach of the Year.

Forks players Veronic Banks, Erin Weekes and Skyler DeMatties each earned a 4.0 GPA and were named Evergreen League Academic All-League along with teammates Emily Klahn (3.92 GPA), Mercedez Flores (3.78), Paul (3.78) and Halle Palmer (3.68).

Those recognized for academic excellence a GPA of 3.0 or higher were Jordan Burt, Sabrina Collins, Alina Goakey, Vee Goodlance, Alex Henderson, Jessica Paul, Yadira Torres and team manager Kayla Looper.

A full list of Olympic and Evergreen League honorees can be found on Page B6.

Last modified: March 01. 2014 12:28PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2016 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us