Peninsula primary election outcomes remain the same after second ballot count

Peninsula Daily News

Primary election outcomes remained the same after a second count of ballots in the all-mail election in Clallam and Jefferson counties today (Aug. 9).

No more counts are planned until the morning of Aug. 20, when the election will be certified, county auditors said.

Clallam County voter turnout was 28.87 percent, with 11,866 ballots returned out of 41,106 issued.

Jefferson County voter turnout was 41.79 percent, with 6,298 ballots returned out of 15,070 ballots issued.

The top-two primary race is an elimination contest in which the two candidates with the most votes advance to the Nov. 5 general election. Ballots for the November election will be mailed Oct. 16.

In Clallam County, Colleen McAleer and Del DelaBarre will face off for the Port of Port Angeles District 1 seat and incumbent Sarah Methner and challenger Debby Fuson will vie for the Port Angeles School Board Position 1 seat in the general election.

In Jefferson County, a proposed $3 million bond for Port Townsend Library renovations failed, Brad Clinefelter and Peters Quinn will race for the Port of Port Townsend Commission District 2 seat, Port Townsend City Council incumbent Michelle Sandoval will face a challenge from Bob Jautz for the Position 1 seat and the race for the council's Position 5 seat will pit Harold Sherwood against Pamela Adams,

In the race for Clallam County Fire District 3 Position 3 seat, incumbent James Barnfather will face challenger Sean Ryan.

Most of the fire district is in Clallam County, but it extends into Gardiner in Jefferson County.

Totals listed here represent all votes counted Tuesday and today.

In Clallam County, McAleer won 3,991 votes, or 59.27 percent. DelaBare took 1,699 votes, or 25.23 percent.

Incumbent Paul McHugh was eliminated. He won 1,044 votes, or 15.5 percent.

The primary election race for the District 1 seat, which represents the Sequim area, pitted McHugh, 56 — a former Sequim City Council member who was appointed to the port commission in January 2012 — against Colleen McAleer, 46, port director of business development, and Del DelaBarre, 75, co-owner of BaRay Event Services Inc., in Sequim.

The primary race was held only in District 2, which is the Sequim area. The general election vote will be countywide.

In the Port Angeles School Board race, Methner, who is seeking a second four-year term, won 2,659 votes, or 62.1 percent. Fusion, who ran unsuccessfully against Methner in November 2009, took 864 votes, or 20.18 percent.

Methner, 43, describes herself as a stay-at-home mom. Fuson, 60, works in accounting and business services.

David M. Tietz, 50, a salesman, was eliminated. He won 759 votes, or 17.73 percent.

In Jefferson County, a $3 million bond measure, which needed a 60 percent supermajority for passage, received a total of 2,505 no votes, or 59.57 percent, to 1,700 yes votes, or 40.43 percent.

Proposition 1 asked for Port Townsend voters' approval for the city's issuing up to $3 million in general obligation bonds to pay for renovation and expansion of the Carnegie Library portion of the complex at 1220 Lawrence St.

The measure was before voters in Port Townsend only, where 7,246 ballots were issued.

In the four-year Port of Port Townsend Commission District 2 seat race, Clinefelter, 53, won a total of 993 votes, or 51 percent, to Quinn's 511 votes, or 26.25 percent.

Ballots were sent only to the residents of the district that includes the communities of Cape George, Chimacum, Irondale, Kala Point and Nordland. The November race will be countywide.

No incumbent is running. Dave Thompson lost his seat when the district boundaries were redrawn in 2011.

Clinefelter is a Nordland resident who is a retired maritime heavy-industry worker and owner of Mystery Bay Charters & Services.

Quinn, 59, of Port Townsend, is an entrepreneur, the executive director of the Economic Development Team Jefferson and CEO of the Quimper Mercantile.

Bill Putney, 67, was eliminated from the November race. The Port Townsend retired project engineer-manager won 416 votes, or 21.37 percent.

In the four-year Port Townsend City Council Position 1 race, Sandoval won 2,141 votes, or 54.18 percent. Jautz won 939 votes, or 23.76 percent.

Vernon Garrison, who served on the City Council from 1999-2001, was eliminated from the general election. He won 840 votes, or 21.26 percent.

Sandoval, 55, has served three terms on the City Council, two as mayor. She is a real estate broker and co-owner of Windermere Real Estate in Port Townsend.

Jautz, 74, worked for 20 years as a stockbroker on the New York Stock Exchange and 15 years as a transportation surveyor for the California Department of Transportation. He has never held elective office.

Garrison, 69, is semi-retired from construction and land development.

In the contest for the Port Townsend City Council Position 5 seat, which is also a four-year term, Sherwood, 65, won 1,553 votes, or 43.81 percent, and Adams, 69, took 1,363 votes, or 38.45 percent.

Steve Oakford, 69, was eliminated in the primary. He won 586 votes, or 16.53 percent.

No incumbent is running for the Position 5 seat. Mark Welch, a former mayor who had served on the council for 10 years, decided not to seek another term.

Sherwood is a veterinarian who has served two terms on the Port Townsend School Board.

Adams, is a retired chiropractor who teaches at the Port Townsend School of Massage, who ran for the council in 2011 but was disqualified because she did not meet residency requirements.

In the Clallam County Fire District 3 race, Barn­father won a total of 4,618 votes, or 62.6 percent while Ryan took a total of 1,564 votes, or 21.2 percent.
Charles Perdomo was eliminated in the primary. He won 1,196 votes, or 16.21 percent.

Last modified: August 09. 2013 3:26PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2016 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us