SPORTS: Rhodefer, Zbaraschuk named Olympic League softball co-MVPs; other all-league honors

Peninsula Daily News

Sequim’s Bailey Rhodefer and Rylleigh Zbaraschuk were voted league co-MVPs by the Olympic League softball coaches.

The two seniors helped lead the Wolves to an undefeated 16-0 league record.

Rhodefer, a catcher, had a .595 batting average this season, belting out five home runs and 31 RBI.

Center fielder Zbaraschuk batted .561 with four homers, 16 doubles and 35 RBI. She also walked 28 times.

Sequim put four players on the Olympic League First Team — junior pitcher Makayla Bentz, junior first baseman Alexas Besand, senior shortstop Hannah Grubb and senior right fielder Columbia Haupt.

Outfielder Melissa Lewis, a junior, was the lone Wolves player on the second team, while sophomores Shelby Lott and Olivia Kirsch were honorable mention.

Five of the nine Sequim players honored will return next season.

Sequim coach Mike McFarlen was named coach of the year.

Port Angeles, which finished second in the Olympic League, filled six of the 10 second-team spots.

Junior pitcher Sarah Steinman is joined on the second team by junior shortstop Maddy Hinrichs, senior second baseman Raelyn Lucas, junior third baseman Ashlee Reid and sophomore outfielder Dove Lucas and Carley Gouge.

Catcher Tori Kuch and Haley Gray, both juniors, received honorable mention.

Port Townsend earned the teams sportsmanship award.

The Redskins had two honorable mention selections: Junior Gen Polizzi and sophomore Megan Lee.

Nisqually League softball

Three Chimacum players were chosen for the Nisqually League First Team: Center fielder/catcher Mallori Cossell, second baseman Erin Bainbridge and shortstop/pitcher Cydney Nelson. All three are seniors.

Senior first baseman Krista Hathaway and freshman pitcher Ryley Eldridge were named honorable mention.

Olympic League soccer

Sequim forward Mason Barrett, Port Townsend defender Xavier Frank and Port Angeles goalkeeper Jack Doryland were voted to the Olympic League First Team. All three first-teamers are seniors.

The Redskins had two player make the second team, defender Nick Silberman, a senior, and junior midfielder Daniel Charlton.

The Wolves and Roughriders had a player each on the second team — Omar Flores of Sequim and Abinet Hayden of Port Angeles, both junior midfielders.

All three area teams had three players receive honorable mention.

For Sequim, it was a trio of juniors: midfielder Nicholas Baird, and defenders Hector Baylon and Lijah Sanford.

Port Townsend’s three were senior defenders Jordan Ristick and Michael Shively.

Junior defender Tristan Isett, sophomore forward Miki Andrus and freshman defender Wei-Yan Fu were Port Angeles’ honorable mention recipients.

Other league honors

Port Angeles’ Mark Mitrovich was named the Olympic League boys golf coach of the year.

The Roughriders, who won the league title, also received the team sportsmanship award.

In lacrosse, senior defender Logan Alward of the North Olympic Peninsula Mountaineers (Port Angeles-Sequim) was named to the All-Olympic Conference team.

Last modified: June 08. 2013 5:52PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2016 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us