Sandoval, Robinson file for Port Townsend City Council re-election

By Charlie Bermant
Peninsula Daily News

By Charlie Bermant

Peninsula Daily News

PORT TOWNSEND — Two incumbent Port Townsend City Council members who earlier declined to commit to another term filed candidacy papers shortly after the county Auditor’s Office opened Monday.

Michelle Sandoval and Catharine Robinson, both former mayors, will seek re-election.

At 1 p.m., Sandoval drew an opponent: Bob Jautz, a resident of Port Townsend for two years, filed for her Position 1 seat.

“I’m running because the City Council has been spending way too much money and the taxes are way too high,” Jautz said.

Jautz moved from California after working in two careers, in the financial industry and as a surveyor.

“The politics in D.C. is disgusting, and we can’t do anything about that, but locally I can make a difference because it’s small,” Jautz said.

“I chose to run against [Sandoval] because I think she is the one who most needs replacing.

“I more or less like what [incumbent council member] Mark [Welch] says, and Catharine doesn’t talk that much, so I don’t get an idea what she thinks.”

Sandoval declined comment Monday because she said she was catching up on work after an illness.

Welch, who holds the third open seat, said Monday afternoon that he has not decided whether to seek re-election.

“I’m torn,” he said.

“Part of me feels I should leave, while another part says that I should stay for another term.”

Other potential candidates

Welch said he planned to talk to some potential candidates Monday night, may encourage them to run and plans to make a decision today. Tuesday

In other filings Monday:

-- Matt Ready filed against incumbent Jefferson Healthcare Commissioner Mark Mauren, while Commissioner Jill Buhler also filed for another six-year term.

-- Incumbent District 3 Port of Port Townsend Commissioner Leif Erickson also filed to seek his second four-year term, while Bill Putney filed for the open seat in District 2.

-- Incumbent Position 1 Commissioner Zane Wyll Sr. filed for another six-year term on the East Jefferson Fire-Rescue board, while Port Hadlock resident David Johnson filed to fill a four-year unexpired term for Position 3, a seat now occupied by Ed Edwards,

Edwards was appointed to the seat after the death of Fire Commissioner Jesse Bondurant Jr. in September 2011.

-- Meril Smith filed for a six-year term as a Brinnon fire commissioner.

-- Barb Knoepfel filed for a six-year term as commissioner of the Discovery Bay fire district.

-- Ed Davis filed for a six-year term on the Port Ludlow fire board.

-- Brian Pederson filed for a four-year term on the Quillayte Valley School District board.

-- Joe Baisch filed to serve two years of an unexpired term on the Brinnon School Board.

Filing week continues at the Jefferson County Courthouse through the week, with a deadline of 4:30 p.m. Friday.

Jefferson County Reporter Charlie Bermant can be reached at 360-385-2335 or at

Last modified: May 13. 2013 6:12PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2016 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us